Indian food bliss

Yesterday was the opposite of my previous Saturday. Last Saturday, I felt like the day went by slowly and was productive.

On Saturday morning, I woke up late and my legs were aching from walking 6.65 miles at work. I didn’t want to do anything all day. I got home at about 1 a.m. on Saturday morning and I did not have the best night at work.

I am just going to throw this out there even though I know co-workers could be reading this post (well, one of them knows how I feel about this subject, so she won’t be shocked). As a result of this constant cycle of unhappiness with my career, I keep coming back to the fact that I feel like my current job isn’t what I am passionate about. I really want to pursue something in the nutrition and fitness fields sooner rather than later. Now how to go about doing that, I am not sure. Maybe certification in nutrition? Personal training too? My husband would say that I should learn how to deal with my unhappiness at work first and then I could move on to a new career. He is partially right, but I am still not happy with the daily duties of my job, nor am I fulfilled by them. I feel like this is a common theme among the blogs I read. Many bloggers earned their degrees in fields they thought they were passionate about, started working and realized sitting behind a desk and doing administrative type tasks just wasn’t what they wanted to do the rest of their life. Can any readers out there relate to my situation and if you can, are you switching careers currently or thinking about it?

I started my Saturday with boring old Honey Nut cheerios and coffee.

coffee, honey nut cheerios

I purposely ate this light breakfast because I knew we were going to an Indian restaurant for a buffet lunch.

We went to Royal India restaurant on the south side of Milwaukee for their lunch buffet. Now, I don’t like buffets at all, but I love them at Indian restaurants. I was so pleased at the selection they offered and I usually am at Royal India. I got grilled seasoned veggies, naan, a veggie samosa, something similar to paneer tikka masala (my fav) and for dessert, delicious mango ice cream. For once, I actually limited what I ate and didn’t feel overstuffed, because then I usually feel sick the rest of the day.

yummy Indian food, Royal India restaurant Milwaukee

mango ice cream

The rest of the afternoon, I lounged around, napped, did laundry, etc. I went to Kohl’s to use some Kohl’s cash and got new Nike shorts for a mere $4.00. Craig and I came home from the mall and watched Inception. We had seen it in the theater last summer, but wanted to watch it again.

Now, I am just watching CBS Sunday Morning, ate this for breakfast…

coffee, Great Grain Cranberry Almond crunch

And I have to get ready for a bridal shower in a little bit. It’s a shower for Craig’s cousin who is getting married over Memorial Day weekend.

I’ll be back later to recap my Sunday afternoon. I hope to get to the gym today because I didn’t yesterday and then I’ll be mourning the fact that the weekend is over and I have to go back to work tomorrow.

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

2 responses to “Indian food bliss

  1. I know – I can’t believe it’s Sunday already either!!

  2. Lisa, I am feeling the same way! I left my job as a reporter at the Janesville Gazette, where I was feeling a little unhappy and unappreciated, to move to Michigan this past summer because my fiance got what could be his dream job out here. I liked my newspaper job, but I realized I hated the daily grind of it. I thought about what else I’m passionate about, and I remembered and discovered how much I love cooking, eating and talking about food! I wanted to go to culinary school when we moved, but I couldn’t pull the trigger because of cost and job opportunities later. I now have a part-time administrative assistant gig that’s less than stellar…and I’m left wondering what I should be doing with my life. I still haven’t figured it out.

    I guess I’m just trying to tell you that I know how you feel and I hope you can find the right path soon. 🙂

    Hope all is well otherwise!

Leave a Reply

