Indian cooking class recap

The Indian cooking class I took last night was fun. It was more of a demonstration than a hands-on class. I definitely feel more empowered to cook Indian food now that I watched her make the recipes. I honestly felt a bit intimidated by cooking Indian food prior to this class, so I am glad my goal of feeling more comfortable was met.

The teacher made many vegetarian recipes over the course of 2.5 hours: apple chutney, vegetable korma, walnut and coriander raita, dal makhani, and basmati rice. She bought onion naan and warmed it in the oven while everything else cooked.

We were served a generous portion of food at the end too. My favorite was the apple chutney. I went back for more of that and the vegetable korma.

Indian food from Indian cooking class

The teacher gave us a nice list of ethnic grocery stores in the area and I can’t wait to check some of them out. Her favorites seemed to be Best Foods. Her favorite Indian restaurant is Royal India, which is also becoming our favorite, along with our other fav, Taj Mahal in Hales Corners.

As everyone was leaving the class, I felt really bad because no one asked the teacher if she needed help cleaning up. Sure we paid for class, but I thought the least someone could do was help clean up. I felt this need to help out and I stuck around another 25 minutes or so to wash all of the dishes. The teacher was so appreciative and gave me a big hug at the end. If I were her, I wouldn’t have wanted to cook for two and a half hours and then clean up for another hour, plus unload all of those ingredients back at home.

For the sake of time, I won’t post the recipes from class tonight. Instead, I’ll make some of them soon and post as I make them!

Do you like Indian food? If so, what is your favorite dish? Mine is still paneer tikka masala with a mango lassi.

One response to “Indian cooking class recap

  1. The food looks great, I can’t wait to see what you create. I like how they gave you a shopping list for future use!

    I never liked Indian food but am starting to come around to it. I just can’t get into curry.

Leave a Reply

