Product reviews: makeup and skincare edition

I love seeing what other bloggers and friends use for beauty products, so I decided to do a post on the topic myself! This one is the makeup and skincare edition, so I’ll post a hair one soon.

Here are the various beauty products I have been loving lately:

Cover girl simply ageless serum I figure the more anti-aging I can get, the better. I like primers because my makeup seems to stay put better when I use them.

Cover Girl & Olay Simply Ageless primer

Bobbi brown’s gel eyeliner (waterproof) I use the color Black Mauve. It stays put, looks great, and I highly recommend buying the brush to apply it with too.

Bobbi Brown eyeliner and eyeliner brush

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner Black Mauve

I like her powder eye shadow too. The “grey” is a perfect shade that I was unable to find from any other cosmetics company. Believe me, I looked!

Bobbi Brown eyeshadow

Face makeup

I love Estee Lauder’s Double Matte foundation. It does what it promises–it stays in place, is matte, and doesn’t wear off by 5 p.m.

I have been using Cover Girl pressed powder since I was a teenager. It’s cheap and is great.

Make up For ever’s concealer also does a great job of staying put. It can be somewhat dry at times, but that’s mostly during the winter months and probably can be easily solved by wearing an eye cream underneath (which I rarely do).

favorite face products

Fresh blush in Nectar

It’s a nice peachy shade. Perfect for blondes. Gives my cheeks a bit of color and stays put.

Fresh Nectar blush

Aveeno Naturals face wash and Neutrogena naturals fresh cleansing and makeup remover. I am transitioning to using more natural products and I am glad I tried these out. Both smell wonderful and get the job done.

Neutrogena naturals fresh cleansing and makeup remover; Aveeno smart essentials facial wash

Moisturizers with sunscreen

I wear moisturizer with sunscreen in it every single day. I think sun protection is so important, even in the winter.

I have been loving Noah’s Naturals with SPF 15. It smells good, doesn’t go on too thick and it is nice under my makeup. I wear this in the winter months when I don’t get as much sun exposure.

I recently purchased Lavanila’s The Healthy Sun Screen with SPF 40 for the summer months. I also think it’s been a nice product, especially under makeup.

Lavanila The Healthy Sun Screen; Noah's Naturals moisturizer with sunscreen

Nighttime moisturizers

I just finished my jar of Philosophy Hope in a Jar and it worked great. It’s a bit expensive, but the jar lasted a while and helped my drier winter skin.

I started using the Boots No7 beauty serum recently after I saw it recommended it many magazines and it’s been a nice product too. I think I need to add a moisturizer on top, so I’ll find a new one soon or go back to the Philosophy one.

Boots No. 7 serum, Philosophy hope in a jar

Deodorants

Love Trader Joe’s unscented deodorant with cotton. This works better than anything I have tried lately! Plus, I like that it’s paraben and aluminum free. I just started using Degree’s motion sensing deodorant for the gym and it’s been great too.

deodorent

Things I didn’t particularly love and won’t try again:

Cover girl lash blast volume mascara and Lancome Definicils mascara. In my opinion, both clump up a bit too much and also fall onto my cheeks throughout the day. Not pretty!

mascar

While I love Bobbi Brown products, I wasn’t too sold on her creme eyeshadow. People always told me I had something weird going on with my makeup when I wore this as a base and put powder eyeshadow on top.

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Cream Shadow-Sand Dollar

Bobbi Brown cream eyeshadow

Lancome’s Teint Idole. It’s expensive and fades by the end of the day. I really expected better coverage too.

Lancome Teint Idole

None of these companies provided me with any products, I just wanted to post what I loved and what I wasn’t so thrilled about. I enjoy sharing beauty product tips with friends.

Now it’s your chance to comment–what products you are loving lately?!

3 responses to “Product reviews: makeup and skincare edition

  1. I love the Boots line at Target. I have been using their basic sensitive skin moisturizer for a few years now, and it never lets me down.

    I also love the basic foundation and tinted moisturizer from Mary, the basic volumizing (I think) mascara from Sephora and the eyeshadow palates from Sephora.

    Good recommendations, girl. 🙂 You have beautiful skin!

  2. Pingback: Summer Harvest cooking class and my struggles with adult acne | Fit in the Midwest

Leave a Reply

