Summer Harvest cooking class and my struggles with adult acne

I wanted to blog last night, but couldn’t because we had really bad thunderstorms roll through our area again. There was way too much lightning in the skies and my poor iBook is on it’s last legs, so it has to be plugged into the wall in order for me to use it.

And tonight, I am not sure if I will have time to blog after I get out of this cooking class at the Milwaukee Public Market.

First of Summer Harvest, Wednesday, June 22, 5:30 PM, $20
First in a three-part series where you’ll learn to cook with vegetables, herbs and fruits grown in Wisconsin at the peak of their flavors. For June, Liz Crawford will prepare Creamy Spinach and Kale Soup with Coconut Milk and Garam Masal; Pizza with Onion Confit, Toasted Walnuts and WI Chevre; Creme Anglaise with Grand Marnier and Strawberry Sauce with Preserved Lemons.

Sounds pretty good huh? Hope to share recipes with you readers and I will definitely write about my experience later on this week.

Did you check out my post on my favorite makeup and skincare products? Kayla was sweet enough to comment that I had beautiful skin. I feel like I completely missed adding something to that post: no one would have ever told me I had beautiful skin about 7 years ago. In fact, most people gave me their tips on getting rid of acne and would just stare at the huge cysts on my face. It was pretty embarrassing. I struggle with adult acne. Never had much acne as a teenager, but as an adult, my face blew up with horrible cystic acne. It seems to be genetically linked in our family. Anyway, with the help of Accutane (which is really harsh medicine) and a few good dermatologists, I am able to say that my skin is finally more clear. I still get acne popping up here and there, especially around that time of the month or if I am stressed, but it’s nowhere as bad as it used to be. I pay careful attention to the products I use because of my past struggles with acne. That is why I try to use more natural products and I always wash my makeup off at night and use oil-free foundations.

Hope you all are having a wonderful hump day!

2 responses to “Summer Harvest cooking class and my struggles with adult acne

  1. I never would have guessed that you’ve struggled with acne. Your skin looks great! Mine was under control until my dermatologist made me stop using Proactiv (for fertility reasons). Cetaphil is not cutting it!

  2. You might also want to check out Paula Begoun’s website to see what she says about keeping acne in check at cosmeticscop.com.

Leave a Reply

