Daily Archives: May 24, 2011

Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch

Like I said earlier today, I had other things get in the way of blogging over the last two days. It didn’t help that I worked 10 hour work days yesterday and today. So, I’ll catch you all up on my Sunday post, which I intended to write until the lightning storms started!

On Sunday, I forced myself to relax a bit more before I cut our grass. I read Water for Elephants outside because it was so beautiful out.

I also ate lunch outside, which was nice. I need to take advantage of eating outside more before the mosquitoes come!

salad with tofu, iced coffee al fresco

After lunch, we went to my brother and sister-in-law’s house to pick up tomato plants! My brother has a huge garden that takes up most of his backyard. He already had broccoli, brussell sprouts and asparagus planted. I wish we could have a huge garden like that! We also got a ton of rhubarb, so I came home and thought about making a strawberry rhubarb pie later in the week and then it struck me that I should make a strawberry rhubarb crunch instead because I most likely had all of the ingredients for that, and I did!

rhubarb

strawberry rhubarb crumble in mixing bowl

I used this recipe and it turned out really well. Kind of sweet, so next time I make it, I will use less sugar.

strawberry rhubarb crumble

strawberry rhubarb crumble

I’ve been eating the crumble for dessert all week and piled on top of Chobani vanilla yogurt for breakfast.

strawberry rhubarb crumble, chobani vanilla, coffee

I also bought some pretty flowers on Sunday!

pink daisy

red daisy

I don’t normally plant flowers, but I love the sight of them so much and wanted cheerful, summery ones that would last all summer, so I got daisies and Celosia.

spring flowers

flowers

Celosia Ice Cream Cherry

On Sunday night, we experienced some really bad thunderstorms and had the scariest lightning strike close to our house. It shook our whole house and freaked everyone out, especially the cats. I decided not to blog because it wasn’t a good idea to have my laptop plugged in at this point in the evening.

Today was pretty typical and so was yesterday. I decided not to take pics of my food and post them since I was behind anyway in general.

My workout yesterday was on the Cybex and I lifted weights. Tonight, I biked and lifted weights.

Wow, this week is flying by and I only have two more days of work left and then a long, glorious four day weekend! Tomorrow evening, I probably won’t blog because I am going to the Taste of Home cooking show. Should be great and I will share everything I learned!

What is your favorite way to use rhubarb in a recipe? I need ideas to use the rest of the rhubarb up or it’s getting cut up and put in the freezer!

I’ll be back tonight

Lightning kept me from blogging on Sunday night and life kept me from blogging yesterday. I chose going to the gym over blogging, because that is what a healthy living blogger should do, right?

I’ll be back tonight with a post! Hope your week got off to a good start!