Daily Archives: November 26, 2011

Humbug

Hey! Hope you had a good Saturday and didn’t spend it shopping in the madness that is Christmas shopping. If you want to put me in a bad mood, just put me in a store at this time of year. I wasn’t so patient today at Target. I’d much rather shop on cyber Monday and get cash back with ebates and free samples with purchases.

Just call me Oscar! (I kind of want this shirt).

source

Breakfast this morning was greek yogurt with cranberry orange relish and some pomegranate arils. Great way to use some Thanksgiving leftovers if I must say so myself!

Oh and since it’s only out for about the next month, I grabbed some Eggnog Latte Coffee Mate creamer. I felt like indulging in a less healthy coffee creamer and it was delicious with my coffee. Who needs Starbucks eggnog lattes when you can use a creamer at home?

20111126-145121.jpg

Karma is cute so I can never resist including him on the blog.

20111126-145130.jpg

I’m not very adventurous with my hair. I need to watch more videos from The Small Things Blog and learn how to do my hair properly. Adventurous for me today was putting it half up and it looking ok. I still haven’t mastered my side bangs because of my darn cowlick.

20111126-145136.jpg

Did you see the santa stocking in the background of the picture above? It was made by my mom and I gave it to Craig our first Christmas together.

20111126-145142.jpg

Here’s my stocking. 🙂

20111126-145147.jpg

I’ve been craving avocado like mad lately and finally picked up two at the store last night. It tasted delicious in my tofu, black bean, Frank’s Red Hot, and cheese burrito at lunch.

20111126-145152.jpg

It hasn’t been the most productive Saturday, but there’s still the evening. I should have some gluehwein and put the tree up tonight. That’ll get me in the spirit of the season and maybe I won’t be buying that Oscar shirt from Target after all.

Wishing we were in Chicago

It seemed like everything was against us going to Chicago today for the Christkindlmarket at Daley Plaza. Earlier in the week, we were looking at the forecast and rain + 50 something degree temps didn’t sound like fun when you wanted to walk from the train station and to a deep dish pizza place.

Then, Craig got sick. Pretty sure he has the flu because of his fever over the last couple of days. Boy am I glad I got the flu shot again this year.

And now that it’s almost December and our weekends seem to be getting full of things to go to and do, we’ll most likely not make it down to the market this year. I’m hoping for next year!

Instead, I’ll leave you with pictures of our trip down there three years ago and a recommendation to go if you can! It’s so much fun to buy Christmas gifts at the market and to feel like you have escaped to a German or Swiss Christmas market for a little bit. Take the Metra from Kenosha if you’re a Wisconsinsite. The weekend pass is only $7 (we used to pay $5) and it’s unlimited rides all weekend. Parking at the Kenosha station is easy.

Craig and I with nutcracker

Eat some currywurst for me if you go.

currywurst

Drink some gluehwein.

mom and me with Gluehwein

us at the bean in Chicago

Instead of Chicago, I’ll be going to Target and Marshall’s, attempting to find a few Christmas gifts and buying Kleenex and cat litter. What an exciting Saturday, huh!?